DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Users may also browse by journal subject and view either journal titles or individual articles.
Full-text articles and most recent job postings (requires logon and password)
Calmar Campus Library Holdings: Current -- 3 months -- (NOTE: Routed to various departments)
Peosta Campus Library Holdings: Current year Online Access.
Database with thousands of books in a digital format (Ebooks) on many subjects. Find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more. Have questions about ebooks? View these "how-to" videos.
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. The Press offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book. You may search by keyword, or browse ebooks by subject.
A collection of handbooks areas across many different subject areas. The Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field, and brings together the leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Includes several hundred reference books in a variety of subject areas. Not all reference books are available to NICC users. Use the "by availability" to see those books available to NICC. Or click here to browse available collection.
Project Gutenberg offers tens of thousands of free eBooks. Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
Almost 2,000 electronic editions of academic books have been published online at the UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, web site. All E-Books in the collection are available for free to UC faculty, staff, and students. Currently approximately 1/2 of this collection is also available to the general public. When viewing a category, be certain to select "public access books" to view only those titles available to all users.
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv via the web interface. Use the default "browse" display, or also search using various limits and criteria.
The Center was founded in 1977 as the nation’s first nonprofit investigative journalism organization. Reveal–its website, public radio program, podcast and social media platform–is where they publish their multiplatform work. Content currently is included in three broad categories of Accountability, Inequality, and Sustainability, or searchable by keyword.
The Groundtruth Project is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit news organization, whose mission is to restore journalism from the ground up by supporting the next generation of journalists through field reporting that serves under-covered corners of the United States and the world. Site visitors may read the fulltext content of reports, view photographs, film documentaries and short feature films, or subscribe to podcasts.
Founded in 2007, InsideClimate News (ICN) is an independent, not-for-profit, non-partisan news organization that covers clean energy, carbon energy, nuclear energy and environmental science–plus the territory in between where law, policy and public opinion are shaped. It is staffed by professional journalists, many of whom bring decades of experience from leading media organizations in the nation, including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, ProPublica, Los Angeles Times, Bloomberg News and Frontline. First-time visitors may wish to explore ICN's website by topic, watch videos, or follow any of several ongoing investigations.
The Marshall Project is a nonpartisan, nonprofit news organization that seeks to create and sustain a sense of national urgency about the U.S. criminal justice system. Visitors may search for tagged content, or browse by browse topically on their subject pages, "The Record" (popular criminal justice topics). The Marshall Project is named in honor of Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall (1908-1993), who was the first African American justice to serve on the court from 1967-1991, and a towering figure in the civil rights movement.
ProPublica is an independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism. With a team of more than 100 dedicated journalists, ProPublica covers a range of topics including government and politics, business, criminal justice, the environment, education, health care, immigration, and technology. Investigative journalism requires a great deal of time and resources, and many newsrooms can no longer afford to take on this kind of deep-dive reporting. As a nonprofit, ProPublica’s work is powered primarily through donations.