Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

For off campus use you will be prompted for your NICC e-mail address & password. Click here for more information http://nicc.libguides.com/libraryresources

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New Popular
Test preparation, job skills, and online tutoring are available here. Users will be prompted to create a free account to use resources or take tests. Live online career and job search assistance is available. Some popular links include Nursing Exam Preparation (HESI, NCLEX, etc.) and the High School Equivalency Test ("HiSET"). BrainFuse is provided in partnership with the State Library of Iowa & Iowa Workforce Development. More information via this printed user's guide, or this video tutorial. Currently (2019) online live academic tutoring is available on this website every day from 1:00 PM - 10:00 PM CST.
New
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost, and without needing to ask permission. Unlike copyrighted resources, OER have been authored or created by an individual or organization that chooses to retain few, if any, ownership rights. OER's include Full university courses, Interactive mini-lessons and simulations, Adaptations of existing open work, Open Textbooks, & K-12 Lesson Plans, worksheets, and activities, as well as many other curated subject collections of resources.
New
Catalog of streaming (online) eBooks, AudioBooks, and video titles available for viewing online or checking out for limited loan periods to personal accounts that NICC library patrons can set up on the website. NICC's new collection includes video and eBook titles. Note: Authorized content selectors may CLICK HERE to sign in and recommend titles to be purchased by NICC.
New
A collection of handbooks areas across many different subject areas. The Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field, and brings together the leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
New
NICC subscribes to content from 1997-Present.
Science is a leading general science academic journal in the field, publishing original peer-reviewed research articles all fields of scientific inquiry. The database provides digital access to all Science Magazine content from 1997 to the current issue, including prepublication content. You may also browse issues by year. More date ranges may appear than NICC has online access to. Use Advanced Search if you wish to limit your search to only those full-text years subscribed. Note you must also select the specific source publication as well in advanced search.
New
Swank Digital Campus provides movie and TV content for the NICC community. The platform displays subscribed titles chosen for one-year license by faculty, staff, and librarians, to support classroom and instruction use. Access to all content is available on and off campus.
New
This book series offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Northeast Iowa Community College Library PO BOX 400 1625 Hwy 150 South Calmar IA 52132 1-800-728-2256 Ext. 395