Skip to main content

New Materials at CALMAR

Recent Library Acquisitions by Fiscal Year and Subject Area

Click on a title below, or explore complete listings along the left-hand column of subject areas.

Please CLICK HERE to view the most recent 6 months of all library acquisitions at Calmar
(no subject arrangement)

Wish you could read a book but don't see it on the list?  Recommend a purchase:  http://nicc.libsurveys.com/Recommend-purchases-NICC-Library

Selected Library Acquisitions for 2018-2019

HESI A2 Study Guide 2018-2019

HESI A2 Study Guide 2018-2019: HESI Admission Assessment Review Book and Practice Test Questions for the HESI A2 Exam you'll benefit from a quick-but-comprehensive review of everything tested on the exam via real-life examples, graphics, and information. Our study materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time.

Grant Wood : American Gothic and other fables

A major reevaluation of an iconic 20th-century American artist This comprehensive study of Grant Wood (1891-1942) is packed with extensive new scholarship and provides fresh insight into the career of one of the key figures of 20th-century American art. Working primarily in the traditional genres of portraiture and landscape, Wood infused his paintings with a palpable tension that is grounded in the profound epistemological and social upheavals of his time.

World Religions for Healthcare Professionals

World Religions for Healthcare Professionals provides healthcare professionals with a basic knowledge of health beliefs and practices in world religions such as American Indian Religions, Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, and Taoism as well as selected new religious movements. It explores how various religious traditions view sickness, health, birth, and death. Its primary aim is to offer healthcare professionals a greater awareness of beliefs and practices so that they will be better informed in providing effective care to patients from various religious backgrounds. Many deeply controversial bioethics issues such as abortion, euthanasia, assisted suicide, and stem cell research are also addressed in this volume from the perspectives of world religions. Written in a user-friendly fashion and easy to reference, this book is suitable for all health practitioners and organized in a way that will make it easy to search and learn basic applications.

Storm Lake

When The Storm Lake Times, a tiny Iowa twice-weekly, won a Pulitzer Prize for taking on big corporate agri-industry for poisoning the local rivers and lake, it was a coup on many counts. In this candid and timely book, Art Cullen describes how the rural prairies have changed dramatically. Politics, agriculture, the environment, and immigration are all themes in Storm Lake, a chronicle of a resilient newspaper, as much a survivor as its town with Storm Lake's people at the book's heart.

The Mayo Clinic : Faith, Hope, Science

Based on the PBS documentary by Ken Burns, Erik Ewers, and Christopher Loren Ewers airing September 25. On September 30, 1889, W.W. Mayo and his sons Will and Charlie performed the very first operation at a brand-new Catholic hospital in Rochester, Minnesota. It was called Saint Marys. The hospital arose out of the devastation of a tornado that had struck the town six years earlier. After the storm, Mother Alfred Moes of the Sisters of Saint Francis told the Mayos that she had a vision of building a hospital that would "become world renowned for its medical arts." Based on the film by acclaimed documentary filmmaker Ken Burns, The Mayo Clinic: Faith, Hope, Science chronicles the history of this unique organization, from its roots as an unlikely partnership between a country doctor and a Franciscan order of nuns to its position today as a worldwide model for patient care, research, and education. Featuring more than 400 compelling archival and modern images, as well as the complete script from the film, the book demonstrates how the institution's remarkable 150-year history continues to inspire the way medicine is practiced there today. In addition, a series of case studies reveals patients, doctors, and nurses in their most private moments as together they face difficult diagnoses and embark on uncertain treatments. The film and this companion book tell the story of an organization that has managed to stay true to its primary value--the needs of the patient come first. Together, they make an important contribution to the critical discussions about the delivery of health care today in America...and the world.

Livestock : Food, Fiber, and Friends

This deeply informative text reveals that the animals we commonly see as livestock have rich evolutionary histories, species-specific behaviors, breed tendencies, and individual variation, just as those we respect in companion animals such as dogs, cats, and horses. To restore a similar level of respect for livestock, McKenna examines ways we can balance the needs of our livestock animals with the environmental and social impacts of raising them, and she investigates new possibilities for human ways of being in relationships with animals. This book thus offers us a picture of healthier, more respectful relationships with livestock.

Leading and Managing in Nursing

Help students prepare for the NCLEX® and their transition to practice! Organized around the issues in today's constantly changing healthcare environment Leading and Managing in Nursing, 7th Edition, offers an innovative approach to leading and managing by merging theory, research, and practical application. This cutting-edge text includes coverage of patient safety, consumer relationships, cultural diversity, resource management delegation, and communication.

Natural Disasters : a reference handbook

This book provides a detailed introduction to natural disasters and the ways in which they have had and continue to have, profound effects on human society. Provides readers with a sound background in the science and technology of major natural disasters, such as earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, and forest fires

Prefab Housing and the Future of Building : product to process

As we stand on the cusp of a fundamental restructuring of the housing and building industries, this book provides a timely overview of prefabricated and modular housing. The idea of prefabricated and modular housing is not a new one: since the 19th century, designers, inventors, engineers, builders, developers, and entrepreneurs have all been fascinated by the idea of the factory-built home. But the current international housing shortages and affordability crises have given a new urgency to the need to transform building construction in the 21st century.

Japan's World Heritage Sites

Visit the most compelling cultural and nature sites in all of Japan with this beautifully photographed travel guide. In Japan's World Heritage Sites, readers are introduced to the temples, gardens, castles and natural wonders for which Japan is so justly renowned.

Never Too Late : the adult student's guide to college

As anyone who has done it knows, going back to school is a major undertaking. For younger and older adults alike, starting or returning to school presents different challenges than those encountered by teens fresh out of high school and heading straight to college. Countless Americans take on this task while working, raising kids, caring for parents, volunteering, serving in the military - and in some cases all of the above. This book includes practical advice for the busy moms, frustrated employees, and ambitious adults who are applying to college or hoping to finish earning a degree.

Cells Are the New Cure : the cutting-edge medical breakthroughs that are transforming our health

Revolutionary new science is providing cures that were considered science fiction just a few years ago--and not with pills, surgery, or radiation, but with human cells. Promising treatments now in extensive clinical trials could have dramatic impacts on cancer, autoimmune diseases, organ replacement, heart disease, and even aging itself. The key to these breakthroughs is the use of living cells as medicine instead of traditional drugs. Discover the advances that are alleviating the effects of strokes, Alzheimer's disease, and even allergies.

No One Ever Taught Me How to Learn : how to unlock your learning potential and become unstoppable

The most effective study technique that few students actually use. How slower learners are often underestimated, and can surpass expectations. What we can learn from the fun and curiosity children bring to learning. Why knowing your motivation and purpose is key when learning something new. What type of learner you are: exploratory generalist, project tackler, or curriculum developer Understand how learning works, and use it to your advantage.

Make Your Bed : little things that can change your life...and maybe the world

On May 17, 2014, Admiral William H. McRaven addressed the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin on their Commencement day. Taking inspiration from the university's slogan, "What starts here changes the world," he shared the ten principles he learned during Navy Seal training that helped him overcome challenges not only in his training and long Naval career, but also throughout his life; and he explained how anyone can use these basic lessons to change themselves-and the world-for the better.

The 5-Ingredient College Cookbook

Eat fresh, fast, and healthy--even in college. Discover a college cookbook with more than 100 recipes--ranging from classic staples to more adventurous options--that can be made with just 5 ingredients, and in less time than it takes to watch an episode of your favorite TV show. Every dish in this college cookbook is fresh, healthy, affordable, and designed to help newly-independent first-time cooks refine their own palate, even with limited resources.

The Survival Guide for Nursing Students

The Survival Guide of Nursing Students will give you the unique perspective you will need to actually enjoy nursing school. Written by an RN and for students in the first semester to students about to graduate, this guide packs a big punch. It dispels myths and offers straightforward suggestions for how to deal with stress, nerves, and perhaps just the encouragement you need to be successful in your nursing journey. This guide is what every clinical instructor and floor nurse wished they had known.

The Royal Art of Poison : filthy palaces, fatal cosmetics, deadly medicine, and murder most foul

Traces the history of poison in centuries of royal courts, from the intentional posionings to the unintentional side effects of commonly used makeup and medications.

Guts

Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she's dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that Raina's tummy trouble isn't going away... and it coincides with her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. What's going on? Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a thoughtful, charming, and funny true story about growing up and gathering the courage to face -- and conquer -- her fears.

Northeast Iowa Community College Library PO BOX 400 1625 Hwy 150 South Calmar IA 52132 1-800-728-2256 Ext. 395